top of page

Linemen and Back of the Year Finalists Announced

Lanett lineman Caden Story, the 2A Linemen of the Year in 2020, is once again a finalist. Photo by Adam Sparks of the Opelika Auburn News.

The Alabama Sportswriters Association has announced the Linemen and Back of the Year Finalists for the 2021 football season. The ASWA selects three back and three linemen finalists from each of the seven AHSAA classifications.

The winners will be honored at the annual Player of the Year Banquet to be held in Montgomery on January 13th. The Mr. Football Award will also be presented at that time.

Here are the finalists:


Back of the year

Conner Harrell, QB, Thompson

Ryan Peppins, WR, Thompson

Evan Smith, QB/ATH, Oak Mountain

Lineman of the year

Jeremiah Alexander, EDGE, Thompson

Drew Bobo, OL, Auburn

Justice Finkley, DL, Hewitt-Trussville


Back of the year

Khalib Johnson, QB, Clay-Chalkville

Braylon McReynolds, RB, McGill-Toolen

Earl Woods, QB, Hueytown

Lineman of the year

Trevon McAlpine, DL, Saraland

John McMillan, LB, Mountain Brook

Jaquavious Russaw, DL, Carver-Montgomery


Back of the year

Quinshon Judkins, RB, Pike Road

DeMarcus Lacey, RB, Pleasant Grove

Parker Martin, QB, Fairview

Lineman of the year

Anez Cooper, OL, Pleasant Grove

Robert Courtney, LB, UMS-Wright

Khurtiss Perry, DL, Pike Road


Back of the year

Antonio Kite, DB/ATH, Anniston

Will Stokes, RB, Madison Academy

Walter Taylor III, QB, Jackson

Lineman of the year

Deuce Spurlock, LB, Madison Academy

Michael Towner, DL, Vigor

Robert Woodyard, LB, Williamson


Back of the year

Jeremiah Cobb, RB, Montgomery Catholic

Jashawn Cooper, RB, Montgomery Academy

Jack Hayes, QB, Piedmont

Lineman of the year

TJ Dudley, LB, Montgomery Catholic

AJ Odom, DL, Oakman

Landon Smart, LB, Piedmont


Back of the year

Emmanuel Henderson, RB, Geneva County

Jammarian Johnson, WR/DB, Clarke County

Logan Washburn, QB, Cleveland

Lineman of the year

Keldric Faulk, DL, Highland Home

Koby Keenum, OL, Mars Hill Bible

Caden Story, DL, Lanett


Back of the year

Javion Belle, RB/ATH, Pickens County

Brayden Kyle, QB, Decatur Heritage

Jaland Lewis-Horton, RB, Sweet Water

Lineman of the year

Kedrick Brown, LB, Brantley

Michael Alan Cole, DL, Sweet Water

Tyler Ward, OL, Sweet Water


bottom of page