top of page

Coaching Changes Continue

Updated: Feb 22, 2022

Bill Smith is leaving Huffman to take the job at Talledega High School.

Each football season ends and coaches change jobs. It is part of the high school football process.

Of the 31 schools that have new hired coaches so far, two selected middle school coaches from their systems. Twenty one have hired assistant coaches and six of those were promotions from their own staffs. Most of them were offensive and defensive coordinators and some had previous head coaching experience. Only seven of the new hires were present head coaches of other schools. One hire was a college assistant coach and one was a former professional player with no coaching experience. Four of the coaching hires came from out of state, but all four have ties to the state of Alabama as players or coaches.

There are approximately 18 jobs still open. Here are the hires so far from the 2022 Coaching Carousel.

School Old Coach New Coach Last Job

Blount Dedrick Sumpter Josh Harris Scarborough M.S.

Decatur Heritage Steve Meek Nakita Stover Decatur Heritage MS

Deshler Randall Martin Patrick Malone Brooks DC

Donoho Mark Sanders Jeremy Satcher Oxford Asst

Dothan Smitty Grider Jed Kennedy Enterprise DC

Enterprise Rick Darlington Ben Blackmon Spanish Fort HC

Etowah Ryan Locke Matt Glover Clay Chalkville DC

Fairfield Keon Handley Shepherd Skanes Miles College Asst

Florence Wade Waldrep Kenny Morson Fayetteville (Tn) HC

Glencoe Brian Alred Jamison Wadley Glencoe Asst

Haleyville Chris Musso Bo Culver Hamilton Asst

Hazel Green Joel Schrenk Charlie Wilburn Bob Jones Asst

Headland Rodney Dollar Reginald Melton Headland OC

Hoover Josh Niblett Wade Waldrop Florence HC

Jackson Olin Tim Vakakes Jamaal Bess Fairhope Asst

LeFlore Shon Burney Renardo Jackson Vigor DC

Mary Montgomery Stan McCain Zach Golson Daphne OC

Moody Adam Wallace Jake Ganus Thompson Co DC

Mortimer Jordan Stuart Floyd Dustan Goode Mortimer Jordan Asst

Pell City Wayne Lee Steve Mask St. Pauls HC

Pike County Fred Holland Mark Hurt Lowndes Co (Ga) DC

Sipsey Valley Scott Marchant Joey Milligan Sipsey Valley Asst

Slocomb Richard Tisdale Bryant Garrison Gwinnett (Ga) DC

Spain Park Shawn Rainey Tim Vakakes Jackson Olin HC

St. John Pauls II Joe Ross Michael Harper Lynn Asst

St. Pauls Steve Mask Ham Barnett St. Pauls DC

Talledega Shannon Felder Bill Smith Huffman HC

Vestavia Sean Calhoun Robert Evans Mtn. Brook DC

Waterloo Michael Williams Jeremiah Stricklin Waterloo DC

West Blocton Eric Hiott Dre'Mail King Greensboro HC

Wetumpka Tim Perry Bear Woods CFL Player


bottom of page