Back and Linemen of the Year Awarded at ASWA Banquet

Many of the state’s top football players and coaches gathered on Tuesday at the Alabama Sportswriters Association Awards Banquet. The state’s Mr. Football Award was won by Austin’s Asa Martin and is sponsored by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners.

Here is the list of this years’ winners per classification.


Class 7A: Taulia Tagovailoa (Thompson)

Class 6A: Asa Martin (Austin)

Class 5A: La’Damian Webb (Beauregard)

Class 4A: Symon Smith (UMS-Wright)

Class 3A: Cardavion Myers (Piedmont)

Class 2A: Jermaine Brown (St. Luke’s)

Class 1A: Shamar Lewis (Sweet Water)


Class 7A: Pierce Quick (Hewitt-Trussville)

Class 6A: Tank Jenkins (Park Crossing)

Class 5A: Malik Langham (Lee-Huntsville)

Class 4A: Riley Russell (Cherokee County)

Class 3A: Andres Fox (Mobile Christian)

Class 2A: Baraskious Dowdell (Lanett)

Class 1A: Devin March (Houston County)

Class 7A Back of the Year Taulia Tagovailoa of Thompson (photo credit Julie Bennett

Alabama Football Coaches Association

Established 2005

© 2023 by ALFCA