top of page

ALFCA Announces 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

Updated: Nov 23, 2020

The Alabama Football Coaches Association is proud to announce the Lifetime Achievement winners for the 2020 ALFCA Coach of the Year Banquet. These three outstanding coaches will be honored for their contributions to high school football in Alabama at the banquet on Saturday, January 25th at 11:15 am at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Montgomery.

Congratulations to each of the recipients.

1) Mike Battles- Coach Battles served as a head football coach for 44 years in Alabama, Mississippi and Georgia. He is one of the few coaches who has had an undefeated regular season in three different states. He spent 33 of those years in Alabama. Coach Battles did three different stints at Walter Wellborn and spent 11 seasons at Handley, where his 2011 team went 15-0 and won the 4A State Championship.

2) Dan Washburn- Best known by many as the executive director of the Alabama High School Athletic Association from 1990-2007, Washburn was an outstanding coach at Lanett High School for 15 seasons and was at Prattville for one season in 1973. His overall coaching record was 114-50. Washburn served as president of the state coaches association in 1978. But most importantly, he brought the Super 6 state football championships to Birmingham in 1996. Washburn also started the AHSAA Coaches Hall of Fame as well as the summer All Star Sports Week.

3) Fred Yancey- A native of Memphis, Coach Yancey spent 10 years coaching in Tennessee and Georgia before becoming head coach at Briarwood Christian in Birmingham in 1990. He would spend 29 seasons at Briarwood where his record was 278-95. Coach Yancey’s teams made it to the state championship game 5 times, winning three titles in 1998, 1999 and 2003. Fifteen of his Lion squads won 10 games or more making Yancey one of the state’s top coaches for more than two decades.


bottom of page