top of page

Mr. Football, Players of Year Announced

The Alabama Sportswriters Association announced its winners for the players of the year in each classification and the Mr. Football award yesterday in Montgomery.

Lanett’s Kristian Story is the winner of the Mr. Football title for the 2019 season. Story is a University of Alabama signee. The 6’1, 210 quarterback threw 38 TD passes and ran for 19 more touchdowns. He was the state’s Gatorade Player of the Year.

“I’m extremely happy for him,” said his father and Lanett head coach Clifford Story. “He’s worked extremely hard. He put himself in position to do it. He’s been wanting to win this award ever since he was a little boy. I always used to talk about Mr. Football guys and how they are game changers week in and week out. I put in his head early what type of player he needed to be overall to even be put on this stage.”

Story’s 13,129 yards of total offense and his 175 touchdowns that he accounted for are both state records. He is the first 1A Player to win the award since Thomas Banks of West Jefferson won in 1983.

Here are the other winners of the Back and Linemen of the Year Awards in each classification for 2019.

7A Lineman of the Year

Demouy Kennedy, LB, Theodore

7A Back of the Year

Sawyer Pate, QB, Thompson

6A Lineman of the Year

Jackson Bratton, LB, Muscle Shoals

6A Back of the Year

Kris Abrams-Drane, QB/WR, Spanish Fort

5A Lineman of the Year

Trent Howard, OL, Briarwood Christian

5A Back of the Year

Zayquez Perryman, QB, Pleasant Grove

4A Lineman of the Year

Will Breland, LB, UMS Wright

4A Back of the Year

Rontarius Wiggins, RB, Jacksonville

3A Lineman of the Year

Dontae Lawson, LB, Mobile Christian

3A Back of the Year

Daquan Johnson, QB/DB, Flomaton

2A Lineman of the Year

Arion Gregory, LB, Luverne

2A Back of the Year

Jalen White, RB, Daleville

1A Lineman of the Year

Mack McCluskey, OL/DL, Mars Hill

1A Back of the Year

Kristian Story, QB, Lanett


bottom of page