top of page

Minutes of the ALFCA Super 7 Board Meeting

Coach Jack Wood is in his 18th year serving as the executive director of the Alabama Football Coaches Association.

The board of directors of the Alabama Football Coaches Association met in Auburn on December 2, 2022 at the Super 7 championships. The following members were present: president Terry Curtis of UMS Wright, Vice president Jere Adcock of Decatur, 2nd vice president Laron White of Sparkman, Jimmy Perry of St. James, Bob Godsey of Madison Academy, Toby Greene from Northside Methodist, Erik Speakman of Opelika, Scott Rials of Baldwin County, Scott Goolsby of Auburn, Steve Smith from Piedmont, Richie Busby from Helena, Lev Holly of Mobile County Schools, Andro Williams of Danville, Jake Garrett of Hewitt Trussville and John Ritter of Russellville. Executive Director Jack Wood, administrative assistant Jennifer Byrd and former ALFCA president Jamie Riggs were also present.

Coach Wood opened the meeting, thanking everyone for their help and attendance at the annual Super 7 social the night before at Baumhowers Victory Grill. He once again was very pleased with the turnout. Brent Bedsole of the Auburn University football staff welcomed everyone on behalf of new Auburn coach Hugh Freeze who was out on the road recruiting. New Auburn football chief of staff Matt Bevins also came by to welcome the board. Coach Wood reported that the association was still on strong financial footing thanks to the ALFCA sponsors , all of whom were up to date on their sponsorship payments. He once again thanked Balfour for providing Coach of the Year rings to all of the winners of those awards once again for the 18th straight year.

Coach Wood encouraged the board members to attend the AFCA Convention in Charlotte in January. He reminded them that the association would reimburse any members attending with a $600 stipend.

Coach Wood then turned the meeting over to president Terry Curtis. Coach Curtis started the process of coach of the year selections for each classification. Board members serve on the selection committees for the different classes. Committee members read out all of the nominations for each award with a little background information and synopsis of each coach's accomplishments for the 2022 season as well as their career. They also read some of the recommendation by the member who nominated each candidate. In some situations, committee members made recommendations to the board of the top candidate or two for the award. The board then voted and verified the winners. Coach Curtis then went back over the entire list of winners and assigned board members to contact the winning coaches and get their ring size. These board members will also present the award to that coach at the Coach of the Year banquet.

President Terry Curtis then brought to the board the recommendation of the Lifetime Achievement Award Committee. The board then certified the winners of this year's Lifetime Awards- Don Creasy, Lamar Harris and Lymos McDonald.

Coach Wood then discussed the ALFCA Convention and Coach of the Year Banquet to be held at the Embassy Suites in Montgomery January 26th-28th. Each member was given a copy of the clinic agenda. Coach Curtis assigned board members the task of introducing each of the speakers. Coach Wood talked about a change in the schedule this year, moving the ALFCA general assembly meeting to Thursday afternoon at 5:00 PM. In addition to discussion of the football issues that effect the ALFCA membership, odd number districts (1,3,5,7) must nominate and elect their board members to the ALFCA board of directors for 2023 and 2024 at this meeting. Coach Wood expressed that the decision to change the general assembly was made in hopes of increasing attendance at the meeting, moving it from its normal late Friday afternoon time slot. The college head coach line up for the clinic appears to be as great as in any year with Auburn coach Hugh Freeze, Alabama coach Nick Saban, Tennessee coach Josh Heupel, Arkansas coach Sam Pittman and Georgia coach Kirby Smart slated to speak.

Coach Curtis thanked ALFCA Vice President Jere Adcock for his long years of service to high school football and his years on the ALFCA board as Coach Adcock had just announced his retirement. Coach Adcock spoke briefly about his career, saying "it has been a most humbling experience. I have been overwhelmed by so many who have contacted me over the last three days." Coach Adcock talked about his love of coaching and how "so many players truly impact coaches." He thanked Coach Wood and those who started the ALFCA for their work and vision over the last 18 years.

In the last item of business, Coach Curtis talked about a proposal brought by Adam Winegarden of Tuscaloosa County. The proposal involved a change to the 7A playoff structure. The same schools, those who have the largest enrollments, seem to dominate the 7A classification each year. After board discussion, Coach Curtis said that the proposal could have some merit, but that the AHSAA Central Board had jurisdiction over all playoff decisions and changes. He made suggestions of how the proposal might go forward to be considered.

With there being no other business, the meeting was adjourned. The next meeting of the ALFCA board is scheduled for the morning of Thursday, January 26th at the ALFCA Convention.


bottom of page