top of page

Head Coaching Jobs Continue to Come and Go

Satsuma’s Justin Thomas stepped down on Monday after three seasons as the head coach. Thomas had kept Satsuma competitive, going 14-17 in three seasons.  His team made the playoffs in 2016 and he helped the Gators open a new stadium.  Coach Thomas cited fatigue and a desire to spend more time with his family as reasons for his resignation.

Russellville’s Mark Heaton stepped down last week to pursue other coaching opportunities.  Heaton who is 74-40 over the last 10 seasons as a head coach, has his best year at Russellville in 2015 when the Golden Tigers went 11-2 and advanced to the quarterfinals of the playoffs. He is a native of Demopolis where he played for veteran coach Cody Keene.

Here is the latest list of job openings and new coaches.

Ardmore                            Andrew Smith (interim)               P.J. Wright

B.B. Comer                       Mike Battles, Sr.                              Unfilled

B.C. Rain                           Tellis Stone                                      Unfilled

Benjamin Russell            Danny Horn                                     Unfilled

Bessemer City                  Quintin Jackson                              Unfilled

Center Point                     Shawn Gregory                                George Bates

Chickasaw                         John Beverly                                    Jason Rowell

Clay Central                      Chris Herron                                    Danny Horn

Corner                                Zac Willis                                          John Clements

Cottage Hill                      David Peebles                                   Chris Brazzell

Cullman                             Mark Britton                                    Matt Plunkett

Dale County                      Pate Harrison                                   Unfilled

Danville                              Josh LouAllen                                 Shannon McGregory

Dothan                               Kevin Jackson                                 Unfilled                                                                      East Lawrence                  Jarrod Helms                                  Matthew Pettus

Elba                                     Ed Rigby                                          Pate Harrison

Ellwood Christian            Mike Stokes                                     Unfilled

Elmore County                  Norman Dean                                 Jordan Cantrell

Eufaula                               Bryan Moore                                   Ed Rigby

Faith Academy                  Jeff Estes                                         Jack French

Florence                             J.B. Wallace                                     Will Hester

Fultondale                         Richie Busby                                    Don Dover

Gardendale                        Matt Plunkett                                  Chad Eads

Glencoe                              Rusty Davis                                      Brian Alred

Helena                                Watt Parker                                     Richie Busby

Houston Academy           Jimmy Addison                               Jamie Riggs

Jasper                                Heath Brunner                                 Bryan Moore

Mary Montgomery          Chris Wilson                                     Stan Cain

Minor                                 Curtis Graves                                    Adrian Abrams

New Hope                         Kenny Chadwick                              Bart Stephenson

Oneonta                             Brandon Herring                             Phil Phillips

Pell City                             Keith Etheredge                               Unfilled

Prattville                            Chad Anderson                                Caleb Ross

Ragland                              Brian Alred                                       Unfilled

Robertsdale                       Brian Campbell                               Chase Smith

Russellville                        Mark Heaton

Satsuma                             Justin Thomas                                 Unfilled

Opelika                               Caleb Ross                                        Erik Speakman

Priceville                            Dirk Strunk                                      Jason Simmons

Smiths Station                 Adam Fossett                                    Mike Glisson

T.R. Miller                         Andrew Thomas                              Keith Etheredge

West Limestone               Jordan Cantrell                                Unfilled

Winston County               Bart Stephenson                              Mark Mitchell


bottom of page