top of page

Coaching Hires Still Happening as Schools Move Toward May

Former Fayette County Head Coach Lance Tucker has left Bartlett (Tn) High School to take the head football job at Demopolis High School. (Photo courtesy of Yahoo Sports).

There has been some 71 schools changing head coaches for the upcoming 2023 season. There are presently 8 AHSAA head coaching openings - Bullock County, Curry, Hamilton, Huffman, Monroe County, Montgomery Academy, Section and Trinity Presbyterian. As we approach the end of the school year, schools tend to hire on staff assistants or coordinators from nearby schools to fill vacancies. Of the latest 13 hires, only 2 were present head coaches and both of them were from out of state. But as usual, they both had strong ties to the state of Alabama. Many head coaches are more hesitant to leave their current program after investing much time and effort in their 2023 team. When those situations occur, schools tend to look for qualified assistant coaches on their own staffs if possible.

Last year there were 96 coaching changes in the AHSAA, which is 25% of all schools. 6A had the highest percentage of change where 1 out of every 3 schools hired new head coaches. The lowest percentage of change was in 1A and 2A where only 20% or 1 out of every 5 schools changed leaders of their football program.

There were 82 hires of the 96 from within the state of Alabama or 85%. Assistant coaches accounted for 58 of those hires and 24 were already head coaches at other schools. Also interesting was that 27% of all of the hires were "on staff" hires.

Of the top 13 jobs available in the 2022 cycle (those schools with traditions of great success) 11 of the 13 ended up hiring a coach off the current staff, a former assistant, a former player or a coach that was familiar to the principal or superintendent. This should tell coaches that one of the best thing you can do for your career is to obtain a job at one of these tradition rich schools and work to be the best coach on the staff. This should result in a hire at another quality school (usually a school of equal or less size) or at that present school.

Here is a list of the AHSAA schools changing coaches in the 2023 cycle, where the hired coaches came from and the last time the school changed head coaches. Only 18 of the 63 hires so far (29%) have been coaches who were already head coaches in Alabama. There have been 6 of the 63 hires (10%) who came from college football programs.

Interestingly enough, 63% of the schools looking for new head coaches have swapped coaches in the last three seasons.

School Old Coach New Coach Last Job Last Change

Albertville Chip English Bert Browne Tenn Tech Asst 2021

Anniston Rico White Rico Jackson Tarrant HC* 2022

Ashford Robin Tyra David Stapleton Tuscaloosa Co. Asst 2019

Bayside Academy Phil Lazenby Barrett Trotter Briarwood Asst 2007

Belgreen New Program Luke Tucker Dale Co. HC New

Blount Josh Harris Ramon Nelson Theodore Asst* 2022

Brindlee Mountain Keith Garner Joshua Bailey Huntsville Asst 2017

Bullock County Derrick Levett Open 2021

Carbon Hill Mark Cochran D.J. Emerson Curry HC 2021

Central-Tuscaloosa Rodney Bivens Jr. Demario Pippen Eastwood M.S. (Tusc) 2020

Citronelle Jason Barnett Jason Rowell Luverne HC 2018

Clarke County Stacy Luker Rob Carter Sylacauga HC 2017

Corner Jon Cooper Trent Campbell Hueytown DC 2021

Cottage Hill Bobby Parrish Carvel Jones Cottage Hill DC 2021

Cullman Oscar Glasscock Danny Stiff Hoover Asst 2019

Curry D.J. Emerson Open 2021

Dale County Luke Tucker Evan Ballard Dale County Asst 2021

DAR Brian Largen Kyle Davis Citronelle Asst* 2022

Decatur Jere Adcock Aairon Savage Western Illinois Asst 1996

Demopolis Bryan Seymour Lance Tucker Bartlett (Tn) HC 2017

East Lawrence Sean Holt Mac Hampton East Lawrence Asst 2021

Fultondale Kendric Cook Keon Handley Sr. Pleasant Grove Asst* 2021

Geneva Les Sanders Jamel Harris Geneva Asst 2015

Greenville Patrick Browning Garrick Pimienta Greenville OC 2022

Hamilton Barry Peoples Open 2020

Hillcrest-Evergreen Harry Crum Justin Nared Spanish Fort Asst 2022

Holly Pond Chris Moss Coleman Mason Locust Fork DC 2022

Holt Dustin Hyche Brian Newton Tuscaloosa Co Asst 2021

Huffman Marion Bush Open 2022

Jasper Philip Bailey David Reeves UAB Asst Coach 2020

Luverne Jason Rowell Ed Rigby Pike Road HC 2020

Mae Jemison Harold Wells Rico White Anniston HC 2020

Marbury Hayden Stockton Houston Powell Meek HC 2021

McGill-Toolen Norman Joseph David Faulkner WVA Asst to HC* 2021

McKenzie Ezell Powell Brian Bradford Stanhope Elmore HC 2022

Meek Houston Powell Daniel Evans Meek Asst 2020

Monroe County Shannon Felder Open 2022

Montgomery Academy Robert Johnson Open 2020

Murphy John McKenzie Justin Hannah Jackson Olin DC 2022

New Brockton Zack Holmes Jason Barnett Citronelle HC 2019

Northside Methodist Toby Greene Stefan Gainey Northside Meth Asst 2021

Oak Mountain Tyler Crane Shane McComb Palm Desert (Ca) HC 2021

Opp Mike Dubose Matt Brunson Baker (Fl) HC 2021

Paul Bryant Eldrick Hill John McKenzie Murphy HC 2014

Pell City Steve Mask Rush Propst Coosa Christian Co Coach 2022

Piedmont Steve Smith Jonathan Miller Saks HC 2006

Pike Liberal Arts Charlie Scofield Phillip Coggins Chilton Co Asst* 2022

Pike Road Ed Rigby Granger Shook Trinity HC 2022

Pinson Valley Lee Guess Gentrell Eatman Woodlawn HC 2022

Rehobeth Pete Harrison Toby Greene Northside Meth HC 2020

Saks Jonathan Miller Alphonso Freeney Pasco (Fl) HC 2012

Sardis Chris Stephenson B.J. Brooks Hoover Asst 2022

Section Chris Hammon Open 2019

Selma Willie Gandy Leon Day Clark Elem PE 2019

Slocomb Bryant Garrison Paul McLean Slocomb Asst* 2022

Smiths Station Mike Glisson Bryant Garrison Slocomb HC 2018

Sparkman Laron White Ronnie Watson Sparkman DC 2017

St. Clair County P.J. Wright Tyler Robinson Huntingdon Coll Asst 2021

St. James Jimmy Perry Neal Posey St. James Asst 2012

St. John Paul Padraic Heiliger Chad O'Melia B'Ham Sou Asst 2022

Stanhope Elmore Brian Bradford Hunter Adams Stanhope Elmore Asst* 2017

Susan Moore Stephen Jackson Wes Patterson Buckhorn DC 2022

Sylacauga Rob Carter Chris Smelley Hoover Asst* 2021

Tarrant Rico Jackson Matt Stockton Chelsea Asst 2022

Theodore Eric Collier Steve Mask Pell City HC 2013

Trinity Granger Shook Open 2012

Westbrook Christian Drew Noles Steve Smith Piedmont HC 2019

White Plains Chandler Tyree Blake Jennings Ohatchee DC 2019

Wilcox Central Reggie Powell Brandon Cheatham Greenville Asst 2018

Wilson Matt Poarch Trey Lane Florence Asst Coach 2018

Woodlawn Gentrell Eatman Clarence Williams Ramsay OC 2020


bottom of page