top of page

Coaching Carousel Continues as Schools Find New Leaders

The head football coaching changes continued on Friday as two more schools found new leaders for their football programs.

Fultondale’s Richie Busby has been selected as the new head football coach at Helena High School.  Busby had been at Fultondale 13 years as an assistant coach and 5 years as head coach.

“It’s a beautiful campus, a great school and a great community that really supports everything at the school,” said Busby on, who has been a longtime resident of Helena. “I’ve been making that drive (to Fultondale) for 18 years. It has been the toughest decision of my coaching career.”

Busby replaces Watt Parker, who went 18-25 in four seasons. “I left behind a very talented team,” Busby said. “Like I said when I met with them, I’ve been coaching there longer than any of them have been alive. It was a bittersweet moment.”

Jackson assistant coach Jason Rowell is the new head coach at Chickasaw. Rowell replaces John Beverly who went 3-7 last season.  One of the deciding factors for Rowell was the potential that he believes lies within the program at Chickasaw.

A native of Citronelle, Rowell has worked at several Mobile area schools as an assistant. He has coached at Citronelle, Satsuma, Leroy, Cottage Hill, Faith Academy, and Alma Bryant before joining Danny Powell’s staff at Jackson.

“Ever since I started coaching, I saw myself being a head coach eventually,” he told “I wanted to be able to lead my own program and impact kids. It’s been a dream of mine that is now being realized.”

TEAM                                 FORMER COACH                          NEW COACH.

Ardmore                            Andrew Smith (interim)               Unfilled

B.B. Comer                       Mike Battles, Sr.                              Unfilled

Bessemer City                  Quintin Jackson                              Unfilled

Chickasaw                         John Beverly                                    Jason Rowell

Clay Central                      Chris Herron                                    Unfilled

Corner                                Zac Willis                                          John Clements

Cottage Hill                      David Peebles                                   Unfilled

Cullman                             Mark Britton                                    Matt Plunkett

Danville                              Josh LouAllen                                 Unfilled

Dothan                               Kevin Jackson                                 Unfilled                                                                      East Lawrence                  Jarrod Helms                                  Matthew Pettus

Ellwood Christian            Mike Stokes                                     Unfilled

Elmore County                  Norman Dean                                 Unfilled

Eufaula                               Bryan Moore                                   Unfilled

Faith Academy                  Jeff Estes                                          Jack French

Florence                             J.B. Wallace                                     Unfilled

Gardendale                        Matt Plunkett                                  Chad Eads

Glencoe                              Rusty Davis                                      Brian Alred

Helena                                Watt Parker                                     Richie Busby

Houston Academy           Jimmy Addison                               Unfilled

Jasper                                Heath Brunner                                 Bryan Moore

Mary Montgomery          Chris Wilson                                     Stan Cain

Minor                                 Curtis Graves                                    Adrian Abrams

New Hope                         Kenny Chadwick                              Bart Stephenson

Oneonta                             Brandon Herring                             Unfilled

Pell City                             Keith Etheredge                               Unfilled

Prattville                            Chad Anderson                                Unfilled

Ragland                              Brian Alred                                       Unfilled

Robertsdale                       Brian Campbell                               Unfilled

Priceville                            Dirk Strunk                                      Unfilled

Smiths Station                 Adam Fossett                                    Unfilled

T.R. Miller                         Andrew Thomas                              Keith Etheredge

Winston County               Bart Stephenson                              Mark Mitchell


Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page