top of page

20 AHSAA Schools Looking for Head Coaches

Piedmont's Steve Smith has accepted the head coaching job at Westbrook Christian School.

The 2023 AHSAA Coaching Carousel is in full swing with some 56 schools changing head coaches for the upcoming 2023 season. There are presently 20 AHSAA head coaching openings.

Last year there were 96 coaching changes in the AHSAA, which is 25% of all schools. 6A had the highest percentage of change where 1 out of every 3 schools hired new head coaches. The lowest percentage of change was in 1A and 2A where only 20% or 1 out of every 5 schools changed leaders of their football program.

There were 82 hires of the 96 from within the state of Alabama or 85%. Assistant coaches accounted for 58 of those hires and 24 were already head coaches at other schools. Also interesting was that 27% of all of the hires were "on staff" hires.

Of the top 13 jobs available in the 2022 cycle (those schools with traditions of great success) 11 of the 13 ended up hiring a coach off the current staff, a former assistant, a former player or a coach that was familiar to the principal or superintendent. This should tell coaches that one of the best thing you can do for your career is to obtain a job at one of these tradition rich schools and work to be the best coach on the staff. This should result in a hire at another quality school (usually a school of equal or less size) or at that present school.

Here is a list of the AHSAA schools changing coaches in the 2023 cycle, where the hired coaches came from and the last time the school changed head coaches.

School Old Coach New Coach Last Job Last Change

Albertville Chip English Open 2021

Anniston Rico White Rico Jackson Tarrant HC* 2022

Ashford Robin Tyra David Stapleton Tuscaloosa Co. Asst 2019

Bayside Academy Phil Lazenby Barrett Trotter Briarwood Asst 2007

Belgreen New Program Luke Tucker Dale Co. HC New

Blount Josh Harris Ramon Nelson Theodore Asst* 2022

Brindlee Mountain Keith Garner Open 2017

Carbon Hill Mark Cochran D.J. Emerson Curry HC 2021

Central-Tuscaloosa Rodney Bivens Jr. Demario Pippen Eastwood M.S. (Tusc) 2020

Citronelle Jason Barnett Jason Rowell Luverne HC 2018

Clarke County Stacy Luker Open 2017

Corner Jon Cooper Open 2021

Cullman Oscar Glasscock Danny Stiff Hoover Asst 2019

Curry D.J. Emerson Open 2021

Dale County Luke Tucker Evan Ballard Dale County Asst 2021

DAR Brian Largen Kyle Davis Citronelle Asst* 2022

Decatur Jere Adcock Aairon Savage Western Illinois Asst 1996

East Lawrence Sean Holt Open 2021

Fultondale Kendric Cook Keon Handley Sr. Pleasant Grove Asst* 2021

Geneva Les Sanders Jamel Harris Geneva Asst 2015

Greenville Patrick Browning Open 2022

Hillcrest-Evergreen Harry Crum Justin Nared Spanish Fort Asst 2022

Holly Pond Chris Moss Open 2022

Holt Dustin Hyche Brian Newton Tuscaloosa Co Asst 2021

Jasper Philip Bailey David Reeves UAB Asst Coach 2020

Luverne Jason Rowell Open 2020

Mae Jemison Harold Wells Rico White Anniston HC 2020

McGill-Toolen Norman Joseph David Faulkner WVA Asst to HC* 2021

Meek Houston Powell Daniel Evans Meek Asst 2020

Murphy John McKenzie Open 2022

New Brockton Zack Holmes Jason Barnett Citronelle HC 2019

Northside Methodist Toby Greene Stefan Gainey Northside Meth Asst 2021

Oak Mountain Tyler Crane Shane McComb Palm Desert (Ca) HC 2021

Opp Mike Dubose Matt Brunson Baker (Fl) HC 2021

Paul Bryant Eldrick Hill John McKenzie Murphy HC 2014

Piedmont Steve Smith Open 2006

Pike Liberal Arts Charlie Scofield Phillip Coggins Chilton Co Asst* 2022

Pinson Valley Lee Guess Open 2022

Rehobeth Pete Harrison Toby Greene Northside Meth HC 2020

Sardis Chris Stephenson Open 2022

Section Chris Hammon Open 2019

Slocomb Bryant Garrison Paul McLean Slocomb Asst* 2022

Smiths Station Mike Glisson Bryant Garrison Slocomb HC 2018

Sparkman Laron White Open 2017

St. Clair County P.J. Wright Open 2021

St. James Jimmy Perry Neal Posey St. James Asst 2012

St. John Paul Padraic Heiliger Chad O'Melia B'Ham Sou Asst 2022

Stanhope Elmore Brian Bradford Hunter Adams Stanhope Elmore Asst* 2017

Sylacauga Rob Carter Chris Smelley Hoover Asst* 2021

Tarrant Rico Jackson Open 2022

Theodore Eric Collier Open 2013

Westbrook Christian Drew Noles Steve Smith Piedmont HC 2019

White Plains Chandler Tyree Open 2019

Wilcox Central Reggie Powell Open 2018

Wilson Matt Poarch Trey Lane Florence Asst Coach 2018


bottom of page